Hannover Living: Hannover Living Logo

Historical Museum

The "Historisches Museum am Hohen Ufer", as it is officially known, was founded in 1903 as the "Vaterländisches Museum der Stadt Hannover". It comprises the departments of city history, regional history and folklore of Lower Saxony.

At night, the illuminated quotation by Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz on the side of the Museum zur Leine is best seen, which is from the polymath's Monadology. In it, he describes the interaction of mind and matter.

The collections of the Historisches Museum Hannover cover a wide range of objects from the Middle Ages to the present. In recent decades, the original holdings have been joined by collection areas on contemporary history, the history of economics and technology, and the history of migration.

The museum also plays a prominent role as the central historical picture archive of the city of Hanover. The collection contains around 500,000 pieces of cultural artefacts and a photographic stock of more than 2.4 million pictures from the period 1850 to the present day. The development from then until today is presented very vividly inside, also including a portrait of Leibniz and some of his personal belongings.

 

As part of the "Free Fridays", admission here is free every Friday.

Share this page

Whatsapp
E-mail

This location is here:

Pferdestraße 6
30159 Hannover

Opening hours

Unfortunately, this place is temporarily completely closed at the moment.
Search

Hannover Living: Hannover Living Logo

Historisches Museum

Das „Historische Museum am Hohen Ufer“, wie der offizielle Name lautet, wurde 1903 als „Vaterländisches Museum der Stadt Hannover“ gegründet. Es umfasst die Abteilungen Stadtgeschichte, Landesgeschichte sowie Volkskunde Niedersachsens.

Nachts ist das beleuchtete Zitat von Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz an der Seite des Museums zur Leine am besten zu erkennen, welches aus der Monadologie des Universalgelehrten. Darin beschreibt er die Wechselwirkung von Geist und Materie.

 

Leibniz-Rundgang, Historisches Museum
(c) Christian Wyrwa

 

Die Sammlungen des Historischen Museums Hannover umfassen Objekte vom Mittelalter bis zur Gegenwart in einer großen Bandbreite. Zu den ursprünglichen Beständen kamen in den letzten Jahrzehnten Sammlungsbereiche zur Zeitgeschichte, zur Wirtschafts- und Technikgeschichte und zur Migrationsgeschichte hinzu.

Eine herausgehobene Rolle spielt das Museum auch als zentrales historisches Bildarchiv der Stadt Hannover. In der Sammlung befinden sich ca. 500.000 Stück Kulturgut und ein Fotobestand von mehr als 2.4 Mio. Bildern aus der Zeit von 1850 bis heute. Die Entwicklung von damals bis heute wird innen sehr anschaulich präsentiert, auch ein Leibniz-Porträt und einige seiner persönlichen Gegenstände gehören dazu.

 

Historisches Museum, goldene Kutsche

Teile diese Seite

WhatsApp
Email

Diese Location befindet sich hier:

Pferdestraße 6
30159 Hannover

Öffnungszeiten

Dieser Ort ist derzeit leider vorübergehend komplett geschlossen.

Suche